User Signup

USK Age Classification

USK, Unterhaltungssoftware Selbstkontrolle (Entertainment Software Self-Regulation Body) is computer and video games age classification system in Germany. It is a German equivalent of PEGI, which is used in the rest of Europe, and ESRB, which is used in United States and Canada. USK has 5 age categories, 0, 6, 12, 16, and 18 year old. The age classification is based on Article 14 of German Children and Young Persons Protection Act (JuSchG).

usk-0With no age restriction
This category does not include games with any violence, nudity, abusive language, or any other behavior that could be not suitable for children at any age.
usk-6Approved for children aged 6 and above
Games in this category are family friendly, and may include some some elements of competitiveness.
usk-12Approved for children aged 12 and above
This category may include games with increased competitiveness, may be featuring some abstract fight scenes, for example with historic perspective, not tied to real time.
usk-16Approved for children aged 16 and above
The category may include games with considerable violence, abusive language and some nudity.
usk-18Approved for people aged 18 and above
Games in this category are for adult people, without any restrictions. Games may include extreme levels of violence, dark and threatening atmosphere, abusive language and adult humor, explicit reference to sex, with graphic details.

Comments are closed.